Free Rice, Art Style

From the Amon Carter Museum Blog (by way of Tyler Green, how did I miss that?) is the “Free Rice” art identification style. It’s just like being back in Art History since 1500.

http://www.freerice.com/index.php?&s=Famous%20Paintings

The format is similar to the original Free Rice game, although instead of word definitions an image of a famous masterwork is shown and then four artist names are given as choices. Every time you choose correctly, the difficulty is ramped up a bit. 

Confession: I’m a little rusty. I was trying to go as fast as possible and ID’d a Monet as a Morisot. Ooops. I’m not telling which one, but it was a huge blow to my ego.

So, for anyone who wants to use their useless art IDing skills for good (or who just misses undergraduate art history classes, go test your memory.

One response to “Free Rice, Art Style

  1. Haha. I saw that on Modern Art Notes today too. It started out so easy and I was like “Damn, I’m good. El Greco! Hiroshige! Gaugin! Wheee!” Then, yeah, they make it a bit more interesting and I may or may not have mixed up a Cassat and Seurat in my haste.

    Art history nerds unite!

Leave a Reply

