The importance of proof reading

Well, let’s start off 2009 living up to the blog’s name and being a bit critical. Over Christmas I visited a major art museum with my mother to help her choose an artwork for a local art collaboration. I was snapping photos of labels to help her remember favorite pieces for later research and came across this gem:

img_00361

 

Copy editing requires attention to detail. I’ve been involved in some aspect of labels in several institutions and it requires a certain talent, and mistakes happen. Happily, this mistake is merely sloppy sentence arrangement, not a factual or spelling error. Such errors can be especially harmful in museums, where the visitor often takes the information presented as absolute fact. Let’s just say I wouldn’t want to be the last person to approve copy to be printed, which is why I decided to forgo my childhood dream of a career as a copy editor.

Happy new year!

 

Note: Yes, there were a few typos. By no means am I saying my grammar and sentence structure are above reproach. And as I admit above, I wouldn’t want to be the last person to sign off on final copy. That said, it’s a blog! It’s supposed to be fun, not perfect.

3 responses to “The importance of proof reading

  1. I would have been tempted to bust out the sharpie. Red.

  2. “Well, let’s start of 2009 living up to the blog’s name and being a bit critical.”

    -Did you mean “of” or “off”? Or were you trying to be funny?

  3. hi… surfing by, reading your post re: pet obsessions. Anyway, I couldn’t help but notice the 1st line of this post (the importance of proof-reading)… “let’s start of[sic] 2009 “. Nonetheless, hi… surfing by, : )

Leave a Reply

